Yay!

I’ve wanted to start a food blog for awhile. I started following them about a year ago. You can see a few of my favorites on the right. Mainly, I want this to be a log of what I eat and make (for myself). I’ll also take pictures of my meals and my adventures in the kitchen to share with my friends. As I’ve been told, I’m quite a critic so I’ll be sharing some of my thoughts on food and reviews on restaurants I go to as well.

So, a little about me. I’m a 20 year old college student at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL. I am double majoring in Chemical Engineering and Biochemistry. Did I mention I am on a pre-med track also? (Yes, I know I will be in school till I am 30.) I started cooking when I came to college and I’ve found that I have quite a knack for it. I love trying new recipes and It’s thrilling to make something from scratch just to know you can do it. Cooking is really alot like chemistry. As long as you know a few techniques and can replicate those with a small degree of error, you can create anything that will stimulate your tastebuds.

Growing up in Burma, I was exposed to a variety of Asian foods: Chinese, Indian, and Burmese. So I am more biased towards Chinese and South Asian flavors. I have never liked Italian food. The ingredients and spices are entirely different from what I am used to and even though I’ve been in the US for 10 years, I still haven’t adjusted to Italian food. I watch alot of Food Network (though, I don’t have cable anymore) and spend the majority of my time reading food blogs and watching videos so I think I know quite a bit that I can share.

I hope I can keep this up. I’m on winter break right now so I’m hoping to go to my favorite sushi place (Kazu’s in Sarasota, FL) and possibly a chinese restaurant with my family. Those should be my first posts. That means I’ll have to find my camera and take lots of pictures. I also moved into a new apartment with my very own personal kitchen. So that means, no sharing, and everything is mine! It’s a little small, but I’m very excited to start using it. I’ll start posting some recipes and pictures once I get back from break. I’m thinking I should break in the new kitchen and make a pan seared ribeye or a rack of lamb. I can’t wait.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

